Eragon(Inheritance #1) by Christopher Paolini


My first adventure read. Reading the synopsis at the back of the cover, I thought that this might just be an ordinary story about a boy with a pet dragon, who is the only one who can save the world from destruction. It seemed like a common plot, really. But once I read some of the book reviews on Goodreads and BlogCritics, I was actually pulled into the magical world of Alagaësia. The Inheritance Cycle beckoned to me; calling my name over the fresh breeze that ruffled the lush grass of the Empire.

I am ashamed to say that it took me so long to read this book. I started the epilogue but was interrupted when my hold on the Clockwork Princess was available. As I was reading that, my mind often drifted to Alagaësia and I couldn’t stop myself. I just had to know about Eragon and Saphira and their endless journey.

Christopher Paolini crafted a spectacular masterpiece; one so mighty that all the Urgals and Shades would bow in front of it. From the polished blue dragon egg that Eragon finds to the Battle at Farthen Dûr, every single part of this story enticed me to read the rest of the series.

In my opinion, this book is magic. Literally, that is true, but it also touches the heart of the reader at many points during the book. I can remember the never-ending tears that pooled around me as I read about the death. The death of the person I revered and was my favorite character besides Eragon and Saphira.

In the middle of the book, there is a time when you start to get irritated a little when nothing happens. But that is just a trap set to lure you further into the legend. The words of the Ancient Language grasp your soul and take you on a journey that you never expected. Sharp twists and frequent fights keep the story going at a rapid rate.

This book was a full five stars. Not one star less. I would have given it infinity but that is not in my place to do as I set the star rating up to five.

1 star for the Dragon Rider’s legend.

1 star for one of the best fantasy stories in the world.

1 star for Saphira, the dragon who is always at Eragon’s side.

1 star for the story that kept me awake for nights.

1 star for the character of Brom; the character that will rest in my heart, always.

20130819-151512.jpg

2 thoughts on “Eragon(Inheritance #1) by Christopher Paolini

Leave a Reply

