The Fault In Our Stars by John Green


‘My thoughts -on this book- are stars I can’t fathom into constellations.’

I can’t even fathom them into an Aurora Borealis. Why? Because this is one of the best young adult literature this world has ever experienced. This novel made me laugh, cry, and pause and wonder who I am. Should I leave a mark in this world? Or have I already done that in the form of scars?

This book, along with being very heart-touching, also has many wise phrases. If I were to command myself to live my life based upon those, I would. My heart was close to breaking in the end. It was very emotional and made me spill tears. (That coming from me, readers, is rare. Not very many books in this world have that effect on me.)

At first, when I heard of the book, I was convinced it was going to be one of those reads where the narrator just tells a sad story about a person suffering from a chronic ailment. But when I read a few pages of the book, I knew it was completely something else. Something I couldn’t even begin to form words for.

It is a story of a girl struggling with lung cancer, yes. Yet, it is not one where the reader weeps for the character itself. It is how she views her life that gives the effect. How she puts each effort to life, yet wants to die so she can be free of the pain.

The story is not as upsetting as it sounds when it is sought for. The Fault In Our Stars. The name tends to give off a vibe that does not relate a lot to the book, except for the fact that there is a fault. And that fault is where it all starts.

Augustus, a happy 17-year old boy meets Hazel in a Support Group where he came with his friend, Isaac, who is going blind. To Hazel, he seems like a healthy person, for whom nothing could ever go wrong. But every happiness comes with a bit of sorrow. Osteosarcoma. That one thing that ruined his life. His leg.

Hazel cannot survive without her oxygen tank and needs to haul the cart everywhere. She has plastic tubes going into her nose to give her air to breathe. To live. But she doesn’t want it. She feels like a burden to her parents, who do their work from home to look after her. She has no real reason to smile and laugh. Until she meets Gus. That sweet boy who shows her how to live life fully and enjoy each moment of it.

This was one of the best books I have ever read and I am sure anyone who has even a tiny bit of feeling and sentiments inside them and also who are human(so they can understand the pain and happiness like Hazel) will love this book like their own.

I can’t say enough good things about this book but I hope each word I said convinces you to at least consider the idea of reading The Fault In Our Stars. Enjoy the happiness of your life.

20131023-233110.jpg

Leave a Reply

