City of Bones by Cassandra Clare


*Might have mild spoilers

The original order of reading these books is City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, Clockwork Angel(The Infernal Devices series), City of Fallen Angels, Clockwork Prince, City of Lost Souls, Clockwork Princess and City of Heavenly Fire.

But I, being a book-rebel, decided not to follow this. I read the Infernal Devices series first. You can read the first review here-https://theenchantedbook.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/clockwork-angel-book-reviewspoiler-2/

Anyways, when I picked up this book, it just looked appealing to the eyes. Now, after reading it, I can say it appeals to the heart, too.

For most people who read in the actual order, understanding the world of Shadowhunters and Downworlders might be a bit confusing. But I promise, it all weaves in together at the end. You won’t even realize how quickly you get done with the series.

As written on the blurb at the back of the book, this novel is about a girl, Clary, who comes home to find that her mother has been taken. She then meets a Shadowhunter boy, Jace, who saves her life. He enters like an angel into her life.

The story is very interesting and it is full of twists in each chapter. Every time you think that the story is going nowhere and will hit a dead end, a new problem arises and a long-going problem gets solved. At the end of the book, it all falls into place so beautifully and you are  so content, you forget that another problem may come along.

This story is about a strong-willed female lead who will go to any depths to save her mother, who is in coma. Very few books out there display females as strong; we’ve always known the handsome prince who saves the damsel in distress, haven’t we? It’s never the gentleman who needs help. One reason to like this book- it has great female characters who don’t just sob around.

The thing that pierces me about this book is that Valentine, the antagonist, is shown to be so cruel, yet so innocent. Maybe that is just the way I perceive it but it felt like Ms. Clare is trying to portray him as a man who just has different views about the Nephilim. And as so, I didn’t even hate the villain. Perhaps it might be that I have a liking for them (and my heart screams “Nooo!”).

There isn’t really much I can say about this book as I read this in a blur. It was so intriguing that I forgot about reality. The world of angels and demons has pulled in me in its dimensions. Oh, isn’t there a cure in the world?

And here I quote Will Herondale’s poem again in a twist:

“Angel pox, oh, Angel pox,
Just how is it acquired?
One must go down to the glorious part of town
Until one is very tired.
Angel pox, oh, Angel pox
I had it all along—
No, not the pox, you foolish blocks,
I mean this very song—
For I was right, and you were wrong!”

This is definitely a must-read. Forgive me for doing such a poor job on raving about this book. But I can’t explain the joy of it. I promise, if you are into paranormal fantasy, or anything close, you will not stop until you have read all six books, including the majestic Infernal Devices series.

200px-City_of_Bones

2 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: My TBR Jar is Forever Growing! | The Enchanted Book

Leave a Reply

