Supernaturally by Kiersten White


It is totally normal to go from being a paranormal hunter to a high school senior, right? Apparently, yes. The sequel to Paranormalcy starts with Evelyn at her new school, enjoying and dreading the normal teenage experiences.

Many small twists occur in this book. Evie thought she was done with IPCA. But her past creeps up to her. IPCA returns with a job proposal to her, again. Reth has not yet gotten bored with her. And, of course, Evie lands into extra trouble once again.

Jack enters the scene right when things are about to go right. Annoying? Check. Sarcastic? Check. Funny? Sometimes. Cute? Check. But faerie? Jack is a human who can open faerie doors to anywhere. He is one of the reasons Evie agrees to return to IPCA.

One thing I didn’t approve of in this book was that the characters slowly unwound from their true natures. Evie wasn’t the same kickass Evie anymore, Lend’s cute personality dimmed and Reth, the supposed villain faerie got nicer. Or, as nice as faeries get. Evie also lost her funny voice in Supernaturally. Sure, sometimes I managed to let out a little giggle here or there but it wasn’t the same as the prequel. She was still sweet and lovable but This book lacked some of the spirit that got me so connected with Paranormalcy. 

Lend and Evie were fighting for about halfway through the book. I didn’t like it at all but let’s just say that it was the worst part. If you really think about it, it wasn’t that bad because you a girl’s gotta have problems, right? What is a book with a girl protagonist without boy problems?

Overall, I’ll have to say that it was a great book, really, but if I try to join it with the first book, it becomes okay. If you’ve started the series, pick up the book as soon as you can. Also, don’t take my word for it- you never know how it will turn out for you before you give it a try!

Favourite Quote- Jack: “Marry me. Nay, marriage will cost us precious moments together. Let us make sweet, passionate love right here. Let me bear your children.”
A primal growl signaled Miss Lynn getting over her shock at being thus addressed. She lunged forward; Jack deftly rolled off the bench, jumping up out of her reach.
Jack: “Goodness, I didn’t expect you to be quite this enthusiastic about my advances. If I don’t play hard to get, how will I ever know whether or not you respect me?”

It was really hard to choose just one favourite quote. There were so many that were sweet, cute, funny, adorable and… I picked this one because it made me laugh really hard 🙂

I’ll go with 4 stars for this one- ★★★★☆

Bonuses:

1 ★ for the new-ish plot

1 ★ for the faerie-human cute-guy funny-guy annoying Jack

1 ★ for the kinda matching cover 🙂

Supernaturally_Front cover

 

Leave a Reply

