My Dangerously Bad Reading Habits


I have mentioned before some of my bad habits as a reader. I realize now that I have many more of these. Do you have these habits too? We’ll see.

1. Judging a book by its cover. Very, very common reading mistake. I know in my heart that a book with a boring cover could be just as fun as a book with a pretty cover, but my brain thinks otherwise. It’s hard to defy your brain, you know.

2. Reading too many books at the same time. This is dangerous. As a result of this habit, Rebel by Amy Tintera and Matched by Ally Condie are on hold right now. I am in the middle of them both but can’t continue because I keep finding more books to read and start them as soon as I can get my hands on them. Which, if I try, is pretty fast.

3. Skimming over some sentences that I don’t understand. I tend to do this sometimes when I try a new author, which I do a lot. All authors have a different way of writing and it’s confusing when you can’t understand what they mean. I also tend to skim over parts that I don’t have interest in- politics, boring character talking, etc. I try not to, but it’s a habit.

4. Trying books in only tested-and-tried genres. I know, I know. I should go out and try it. But that’s the problem. I can’t get myself to pick up a book that is not contemporary, young adult or horror. And it took time for me to accept the horror books. I always like the visuals better.

5. Speaking in the voice of the character, to get a better understanding. Now, this isn’t really a bad habit but it’s one I’ve been trying to break. I feel that I can understand a character’s voice and way of speaking better if I try it out.

6. Skipping to the end of the book and/or chapter. Oh, this is a VERY bad one. I have spoiled so many books for myself this way. So many plot twists and sudden appearances have become useless.

If you read the title properly, you’re probably wondering how any of this is dangerous’. It is. All of these habits make me prone to insta-death. Yes, I die when I make stupid mistakes like turning the page and getting to know that William Herondale has a ***SPOILER***very nice heart. ***SPOILER*** It hurts to know that you missed it coming in the first place, and also destroyed the suspense. There are similar reasons for all them, but if I started discussing those too, we’d be here for a long time.

What are YOUR bad reading habits? Are they worse than mine? Tell me in the comments below.

– The Enchanted Book

Leave a Reply

