Who’s ready for NaNoWriMo 2014? (Tips included)


nanowrimo-poster

National Novel Writing Month strikes yet again this year. Will you do it? Are you up to the challenge? Can you write a novel in a month?

I for one think I am not ready. I’ve been planning my November since October, before I even selected my Halloween costume. What? Yes, I am that excited for it. But my ideas are blank. Are yours?

Last year, I wrote a post on how to finish NaNoWriMo. It actually helps. You can find it here.

This year, I’m back with a few more tips on NaNoWriMo. Except this year, I have tips on how to develop your idea, or create one if you don’t have it. (Like me.)

1. Create your characters. Some people might argue with making your characters before fleshing out an idea, but in my opinion and trial, it is easier to have an understanding of your characters first. I’d just draft a quick character-sketch of my main characters.

2. Free-write with your characters. Now, once you have a group of your little marionettes, try to engage them in a conversation. The talk can be about anything—cars, music, celebrities, etc. Sculpt this conversation into a scene— for example, if Joe and Jane were conversing about pop music, plant them in a radio station and continue from there. This exercise helps  to get to know your characters better. Maybe the scene will end up in your novel.

3. Write and repeat. Keep writing. Just write whatever comes to your mind, even if at the time it sounds ridiculous, you can use that scene later and make it better by editing it. But for now, just write. If you’re out of ideas in the middle of the novel, do Step 2 again. Or, better yet, leave your novel and go read a book. Or do something else entirely, like working out or hitting the mall. This will refresh your mind and make you more motivated to continue.

And last of all, Happy Halloween! I’m not going to say “Don’t take candy from strangers” because when I go trick-or-treating tonight, I will be doing just that. So, just have fun but be careful of the sugar high!

Comment below! What are you dressing up as?

Halloween-Trick-Or-Treat-Candy-1

 

2 thoughts on “Who’s ready for NaNoWriMo 2014? (Tips included)

Leave a Reply

