We Were Liars by E. Lockhart


This has been on my TBR list since the time it came out. But then, when I was about to start reading it, I saw a review saying it was written in poetry format. I admit, I am not a big fan of books written like poems. Now, I am happy to say I went ahead and read it anyways, albeit a bit late. Turns out the review was probably a scam, for the book is written in a poem-like fluency, but not in poem-form.

The best and the most prominent fact I have to say about this book is that it is powerful. Very, very powerful. Intense. The ending clicks together, not perfectly, but in bits and pieces, leaving you figuring out and wondering for long after you have finished the novel.

Yes, the story is about a sick girl. But it isn’t depressing, or sad. The plot is intriguing, full of mystery and suspense. It doesn’t keep you guessing because the book, though it is short, also has background story lines that entertain you until you get to the end. And there you realize what you have missed while reading the book.

The characters, like Cadence, Mirren, Johnny and Gat, also called the Liars, were very realistic. Gat wasn’t the best and Cadence wasn’t always nice. They were real and they reacted like anyone would in hard situations. That’s what made the characters relatable and more fun to read about.

The writing is just amazing. It’s beautiful at times and it is full of feelings and emotions throughout the book. It really compliments the book and the narrator, Cadence’s, style. There is a reason its one of the top books. And there are fairy-tale variations in some chapters—some of the most interesting I’ve ever read. Also, one of my favourite parts.

Since this novel has mystery and I really do want everyone to experience the feelings at the end, I am going to stop chattering on and leave you on your own to figure the rest out. Can’t give too much away.

According to my recommendation, everybody should read this masterpiece. But you have to absolutely stop everything and grab this if you love YA or contemporary. Or even a little love. And summer. And ice cream.

Favourite Quote-  I saw Gat, and I saw that rose in his hand, and in that one moment, with the sunlight from the window shining on him, the apples on the kitchen counter, the smell of wood and ocean in the air, I did call it love.

16143347

3 thoughts on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. But think
    about if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this
    website could certainly be one of the greatest in its field.

    Superb blog!

Leave a Reply

