If I Stay by Gayle Forman


The book was published in 2009, but people have been raving about it so much even recently. If the whole world was giving this book a try, why shouldn’t I too? So I picked it up, certain that I would love it and it would soon become a favourite. The concept behind the story was interesting—it was something new, something other authors (at least not that I know of) have not approached. The cover was beautiful. My mind was being blown by how many people recommended this book. I was under pressure. I had to read it.

Us humans, we are a different type of species. When we don’t have choices, want some. And when we are faced with choices, we just want it to be decided for us. Mia, a seventeen-year-old girl has some tough choices and an even tougher decision to make. To stay or to not stay. These are her choices in the beginning. And, these are her choices in the end. The only difference is their meaning.

The first few pages in, I was reaction-less. Nothing much was going on and un-understandable-humor-that-was-hard-to-differentiate-from-reality was placed throughout the story. The book hit off with an okay start, and then started getting intriguing. I couldn’t put it down without thinking about how it would end. Or more like how would the author end it.

Some books progress at a really slow pace, and I felt like this was one of them, despite it being very short already. The ending wasn’t coming fast enough and by the middle of the novel, I was trying to rush through it.

What I really loved about this book was how the reader, even if he/she is not a musician, can feel how it would be like to immerse yourself fully in music, to drown in its beauty. Although I didn’t find anything special about the writing, I will admit that it was well-written. Like a professional. It wasn’t poetic and it wasn’t so beautiful that it could make me hug the book, but it was good. And it was just right to fit the narrator, Mia.

Favourite Quote: “I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.”

As it turns out, this book is not an all-time-favourite of mine. I usually judge favourites based on if I would read it again and if I loved most of it. I probably won’t ever read it again. Yes, the story has some life lessons and wisdom to learn from, but I think that’s about it.

if i stay

2 thoughts on “If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. I read both books back in July. Also, thought they would become favorites cause the premise sounded cool. Surprise! I didn’t like them. If I Stay started off good. Then it got dull. I agree that the ending didn’t come fast enough. And I know everyone says that the second book is better. But it really isn’t. It’s sorta depressing really. I gave them both 2 stars.

    • I know, right. I’m not planning on reading the second book. It is depressing, even the first one. The Fault in Our Stars was depressing, too, but in a really good way, that made you love the book even more! We need more John Greens in the world!

Leave a Reply

