Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White


A magical book, indeed. Normally, I don’t read books with a focus on magic, just because I prefer to see it visually. But when I read the blurb on Goodreads, I couldn’t resist picking up this book, and I really hope it is adapted into a movie someday. I sure would like to see who plays Finn.

 I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Finn and Jessamin were not the most original characters, and in my opinion, they could have had more depth to their personalities. Their romance, too, was the same arrogant boy meets stubborn girl and sparks fly. Thankfully, they didn’t really fall in love at first sight. Well, at least Jessamin didn’t. The book didn’t focus on them as a couple, but sometimes I felt as if pushed aside the actual conflict.

Jessamin’s friend Eleanor, on the other hand, was a complex person. She was definitely a piece of work. The villain, Lord Downpike, was as fierce as an antagonist should be. Although if I dare to criticize, he was not as passionate about his wants and it seemed as if he was not given enough evilness, despite the fact that he did do a few malicious deeds.

Authors never cease to amaze me, and I think that is one of the reasons that most of my reviews are laden with four stars and five stars. How they can so perfectly portray a feeling, an emotion, is beyond my understanding. Kiersten White did a nice job by actually using a “historical” voice in this book, and I believe that made it a notch more better.

Favourite Quote: Shadows go in front of you, leading into your future, and trail behind you, leaving a part of you in the past. They are clearest when we are in the light, and disappear when we lose ourselves in darkness.”

Though the book is set in a historical time, it does not really fit in historical fiction—it’s more of a historical fantasy with a little romance and an underlying conflict. I wouldn’t recommend it to all, as I won’t count this novel as my absolute favourite, but it is good enough to be given a chance. That’s what I always say, and I mean it.

My Rating: ★★★★✩ 3.5 stars

IllusionsFate_cvr

(click on the picture for the Goodreads link!)

Leave a Reply

