Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins


Judging by the other cover, I thought this would be a fluffy, girly read. And yes, I admit, it was a bit, and it did make me feel giddy and bouncy, but it’s actually better than that. This book is worth more than that cover, or the title.


My Initial Reaction

A boy born in the USA, brought up in London, and living in France? If Anna is confused, I don’t even know the state of my being..

Review

‘Anna and the French Kiss’ made me go through a bundle of emotions—the feelings Anna felt and described were so true and so engaging that it was both awkward and comfortable reading the book. I actually talked to myself and the characters many times throughout the story. This is proof that good characters can become real people in your life.

Ètienne St.Clair is a lovely guy, but, like real people, he also has flaws. And that makes him an even better, and “flawless” character. He did act very stupid at times, and I wanted to hit him in those moments, but he was very lovable, too. This book was most definitely not a “light and fluffy” read. Oh no, I had heart palpitations each time Monsieur St.Clair was mentioned.

Anna was a strong female lead, but I think the author could have improved her character a little, as she was a teensy bit annoying. Anyhow, I love how she changed to a better person by the end of the book, and learned to appreciate her life. She was also a great narrator, because I don’t know how I could have handled Ètienne in another girl’s voice.

I felt like I was on sort of a high throughout the book—I felt tingly all over, and giggled when something cute happened, which was 95% of the book. The best part about this novel was that it made me really happy. Giddy, girly. And if I’d ever thought that any other book gave me THE feels, then I was wrong. Very wrong—I had to pull myself away from the book many times, and by the end of the book it got so bad (read: overwhelmingly good) that I was shaking with girly feels every single minute.

And, oh, Paris! The city of love! That has to be the best fluffy read setting in the world. I loved the emphasis made on the city and its culture, and how all of it helped shape Anna’s character.

Favourite Quotes (You can’t ever have too many):

“A moment of reserve. “That was it? The whole story?”
“Yes. God, you’re right. That was pants.”
I sidestep another aggressive couscous vendor. “Pants?”
“Rubbish. Crap. Shite.”
Pants. Oh heavens, that’s cute.”

“Har. Bloody. Har.”
He smiles. “Oh, I see. Known me less than a day and teasing me about my accent. What’s next? Care to discuss the state of my hair? My height? My trousers?”
Trousers. Honestly.”

Book Theme Song

Steal My Girl by One Direction

This song is from Anna to Ètienne. When a guy is that beautiful, everybody wanna “steal my guy”… And his mom does call her “love”! Awwhh…

This is, hands down, one of the best contemporary books ever. If you like contemporary, young adult or romance and haven’t read it yet, I don’t know how you’re alive. I hugged this book so much, I’m pretty sure the copy is bruised.And if that doesn’t tell you how good this is, I don’t know what will 🙂

My Rating: ★★★★★

And +1, 000, 000 for Monsieur St.Clair!

AnnaFrenchKissSmall

(I just noticed that both the quotes were about pants. Um… okay..)

2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

