Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins: Blog Tour and Author Q & A!


About the Book

Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and best friend Bee has been returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can return her focus to the important things in life: school, canoodling with David, her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie, and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant with Bee.Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him.  The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her…or make her more powerful than ever.

You can buy the book here:

Amazon      Barnes and Noble

Author Q & A

Today, we have a very special guest. Ladies and gentlemen, I’m honored to present to you, Rachel Hawkins, author of the Hex Hall series and the Rebel Belle series!

Hello, Rachel!

*Rachel says hi*

The Enchanted Book: Are your characters based on yourself/real people?

Rachel: Not really! Characters are my favorite part of writing, so I always say the people in my head are much more interesting than the people I know in real life. 😉 (Sorry, Friends and Family!)

TEB: Do you talk to your characters while writing a story, to get into the mood?

Rachel: While I have been known to talk to MYSELF on more than one occasion, no, I’ve never talked to my characters. Because the character stuff is so important to me, I feel like they’re always already there, waiting to talk, no mood required.

TEB: Which one of your characters do you feel you most relate to, and why?

Rachel: I’m definitely not an over-achiever like Harper, so I’d say David (without- sadly!- the ability to see the future.) I was also a spelling bee champ, and while my school didn’t have a newspaper, I worked on the yearbook staff. Plus I TOO have been known to rock some plaid.

TEB: Do you feel sometimes as if readers perceive your characters differently than what you expected?

Rachel: Oh, sure, all the time! But that’s what’s really great about books- they belong to me when I write them, and then to everyone else once they’re done. I love seeing different interpretations of people I created, love how people will view characters through their own personal prisms.

TEB: Greek mythological aspects like Oracles and Paladins play an important role in the Rebel Belle series. Did you initially plan on adding these to your works?

Rachel: Oracles yes, Paladins, no. I had actually wanted to write a book about an Oracle for awhile, and when I started playing around with the idea for Rebel Belle, it occurred to me that it might be more fun to have a BOY Oracle. What would that mean, could there even be male Oracles, etc? And of course, if I had a boy in a traditionally female role, I thought it would be fun to play around with the idea of a girl in a more traditionally masculine role, hence the Paladins!

TEB: How would you feel if you had to kill off one of your dear characters?

Rachel: I have done it multiple times now, and it’s ALWAYS a  bummer. I’ve always said I won’t kill off a character just for shock value, that it has to feel right and make sense, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t suck.

TEB: Do you listen to music while you write? Any favourites?

Rachel: I do, but I usually like to put on something like 8Tracks or Pandora rather than particular songs. I’m usually looking for a kind of mood as I write, not something too specific.

About the Author

   Rachel Hawkins is the author of Rebel Belle and of the New York Times best-        selling series Hex Hall. She was born in Virginia and raised in Alabama. Though she  was never a homecoming queen or a debutante, Rachel does have an extensive tiara  collection and once came very close to being and Azalea Trail Girl (it’s a thing, trust  us). Find Rachel online:

Twitter

Tumblr

 

 

*Thanks to Rachel Hawkins, Rachel Lodi, and the team at Penguin Random House! This was only possible because of you ❤

logo_1509024_web_opt

3 thoughts on “Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins: Blog Tour and Author Q & A!

  1. GREAT Interview!! Also – I can’t believe I still haven’t picked up the series.. Been meaning to do so for ages now! -.-‘

    I nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award by the way.. 🙂 But no pressure – if you don’t want to do it you don’t have to. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Friday Finds: Week 28 | Avid Reader

Leave a Reply

