Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins


The cover might not look all that literature-y, but I assure you, this is a nice book to pick up. It has just the right amount of girly feels with action thoroughly blended into it. There’s something in it that everyone likes.

Although this book is mainly about a girl trying to figure out her new superhero powers, I felt that the Paladin-Oracle Greek was a great part of the book. I really wanted to know more about it and how it all came together, and about The Ephors, a group of men who guided the Oracle. It wasn’t mentioned a lot and it seemed as if Harper and David were too involved in the present to even think about the future, or the past.

The plot twist, in my opinion, was great. Or, at least, I think it was a plot twist. It was surprising enough for me and I . It took me a while to get my feelings together for this book and many times, I put my hand on my heart, just to try to control all the feels. I really need the second book, and I need it now. 

My favourite part has to be the constant banters. I loved the witty, quirky comments and David Stark has got to be the best targets for them. Harper is an awesome protagonist, but she’s even better at bantering, and I found this skill to be both charming and cute.

The characters just did it for me, and made the book so much better. Harper Price is an over-achiever, and I can totally relate to that, especially how she thought she wasn’t doing a good enough job. She wasn’t annoying, but there were times when I didn’t agree with her. Of course, this is bound to happen, and is a constant in books. David, although not exactly pleasant, was a great lead and evoked my interest in argyle sweaters.


SPOILERS– tread forward at your own risk

I had to include the spoiler section. There is no way to explain my feelings for this book without freaking out over the freakin’ ending! Ryan and Harper’s break-up! Oh my God, it was the best break-up in the history of break-ups, and I’m not a big fan of them, but this one just unleashed all my feels.

I don’t even know what to say right now, let alone make full, coherent sentences. Like, how? How did Ryan become a mage? Wow, I was definitely not expecting that! It was all really hard to take in at the end, especially with Harper choosing to be with David, and leaving Ryan, even though Ryan did still like her. It just kind of broke my heart.


Favourite Quote: “I picked up the nearest weapon I could lay my hands on: a stapler. I lifted it, going for “menacing.” I admit it lacked a certain elegance, but hey. It was worth a shot. David placed his hand on my arm and pushed it back down.
“What?”
“Just . . . that’s embarrassing for all of us,” he replied.”

A really amazing book, and a must-read. Although, if you’re not in the mood for some girly superhero-action, then this can also become a disaster.

image [www.imagesplitter.net]-0-0

IMG_1624

4 thoughts on “Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

  1. Superhero books seem to be really popular lately. I wonder if it has anything to do with Big Hero 6? I’ve been debating whether or not to read this book because so many people seem to love it, but I’ve read too many superhero books lately and don’t really want to read another.

    • They do! I don’t know if Big Hero 6 relates to it, though. Superheros have always appealed to us, haven’t they? 🙂 It’s really good, but maybe you should give it a break if you’ve read a bit too much of these 😀

Leave a Reply

