Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell


Book Review

This was a cute and fun read, and I liked that it was not only a light read, but also mixed in with darker topics like bullying and abuse. Overall, it was good, not a favourite, but good. I don’t think I’ll ever be reading this again, though. It just wasn’t that great.

I think I liked Park’s point of view much better than Eleanor’s. She was just downright annoying, and sometimes when I could tolerate her, I even felt like skipping her part, and reading Park’s. But everybody loves this book, so I decided to give it another chance. And another. And another. I totally did not get Park’s love for Eleanor.

Eleanor wasn’t the best female lead—not even close!—and I always was mad at her. Park, though, I really liked. He was the awesome guy who, albeit quiet, knew what to say each time, and was very supportive of Eleanor.

There were many flaws with this book. I hated how this was just mainly about two kids with family problems trying to fit into society’s view of them. There wasn’t more to it than that, the way I see it, and soon even my admiration for Park disappeared. I couldn’t believe why he was still enduring her, because she was getting on my nerves the whole time.

My favourite character would have to be Park’s mom. She was really funny and her Korean accent was really great when I imagined it. She was always supportive of Park and gradually even accepted Eleanor when she found out that she was a little troubled. She was a steady, nice woman and made a great supporting character.

Audiobook Review

I listened to this book as an audio book, and even though I wanted to like it, I couldn’t. The female narrator’s was very drab and flat, and felt like I wasn’t listening to a book, but a zombie. And Eleanor sounded even more annoying in her voice. The male narrator, on the other hand, didn’t do too bad, and may even have done a little justice to Park’s character.

Favourite Quote: “Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

Book Theme Song

Wonderwall by Oasis

It feels as if throughout the book, Park and Eleanor believe that they are each other’s cure. The thing that brings them out of the life they don’t like. This is a teensy bit similar to the song 🙂

My Rating: ★★★  3 stars

7 thoughts on “Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I loved this book (but not as much as Fangirl) so I’m sorry to hear it wasn’t as much of a great book for you. 😐 Great review, it made me think more about my own rating of the book and opened my eyes to more of the book’s flaws. 😄

    • Thanks for understanding 🙂 Yeah, I think if I had read some 5-star reviews before writing mine, I might have been inclined to give it more than just 3 stars. I might have to check out some of them—they might alter my feels 😀

  2. Aww, I’m sorry you didn’t like it! Personally, I loved this book, but I definitely understand why you were so frustrated with Eleanor. Her inability to trust led to so much indecisiveness and seemingly selfish behavior that sometimes drove me nuts! Also I was wondering, do you think audiobooks take away from the story? I’ve been wanting to try one, but I didn’t want to ruin a book for myself.

    • Yeah, I actually liked this book at first, but then started getting annoyed. It wasn’t the book’s fault, just that I don’t like characters like that 🙂
      Audiobooks, I think, are nice; they are a kind of luxury. But they don’t really ruin the book, it’s just a different experience. Sometimes, if the narrator is talented, audiobooks can be the best option, but other times, it could make you dislike a book, when you might have liked it.

  3. I have a signed copy of this book on my bookshelf, but I haven’t read it yet. I expect I’ll have thoughts similar to yours when I do get around to reading it, but I won’t know for sure until I’ve finished the book. 🙂

    • Lucky! Maybe, but yeah, you won’t know until you read it 😀 I think that you’ll like it more, though, ’cause I have a hunch that my rating was altered by my dislike of the audiobook 🙂

  4. Pingback: April Wrap-Up | May TBR | The Enchanted Book

Leave a Reply

