The Ultimate Book Tag


I just love doing tags! I initially planned on skipping this one (because there are so many that I’d like to do) but I couldn’t resist when I was tagged by Reema @ Swxftbooks and Emma @ She Reads Books. Their blogs are awesome so I suggest you check them out! (After reading this, of course πŸ˜€ )

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
My parents won’t let me read in the car. Something about straining my eyes, so I don’t do it. Although, the one time that I tried, I didn’t get sick πŸ™‚

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you, and why?
I agree with Reema on this one. Tahereh Mafi’s writing is absolutely unique and amazing. Most authors use “filters” when writing and this sometimes detaches us from the character. Her writing is like a mineral ore, not totally pure, but still invaluable.

3. Harry Potter series or the Twilight saga? Give three points to defend your answer.
Harry Potter, of course.

  • Magic
  • Wizards
  • No sparkling “people”, but rather cute owls πŸ™‚

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?
I carry a backpack, not a book bag. In it, I don’t really have books (unless it’s necessary for English class) and I just have my lunch, water, paper, homework, a pencil case, some gum/mints, etc.

5. Do you smell your books?
Will it be weird if I say that’s what physical books are for?

6. Books with or without little illustrations.
I have nothing against illustrationsβ€”I believe that they add to the book and make it more lively. But it all depends on the book and the readerβ€”what would you rather have pictures in, a book with murder, or a book with a girl trying to pick a dress for prom? (Btw, I pick murder πŸ™‚ )

7.Β What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?
I think every book has some quality writing, but

8.Β Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
I didn’t read in my childhood, so no. But there might have been some funny incidents, sadly none of which I can remember at the moment! And I pride myself on being funny lol #disgrace #sorrynotsorry

9. What is the tiniest book on your shelf?Β 
A Midsummer Night’s Dream (the play) by Shakespeare.. I had to get it for English class πŸ™‚

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?
I don’t own may books at the moment (only about 20) so it’s The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

11.Β Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
I can’t say that I write well, but I write some short stories now and then. I do get full marks on my essays for English though, so if that counts, then yes. But stories? Eh, not so much πŸ™‚

12. When did you get into reading?
I’d love to be able to say I read Game of Thrones when I was only 8 or something, but to be honest, I actually started reading when I was around 12.

13. What is your favourite classic book?
I don’t think I’ve read enough classics to identify a favourite.

14. In school what was your best subject, Language Arts/English?
Last year, English. This year it’s French. #proudcanadian

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?
I never actually get books as presents simply because my parents choose to give me clothes or room decor (weird, I know!) but if I did get a book that I hated, I would just donate it to the library, in hopes that at least someone else would like it!

16. What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?
I get really distracted and start watching Youtube or Netflix, so most of the time, I don’t get my posts finished the same day. And then I forget what I wanted to write about, and they just sit in the drafts section, waiting to be completed.

17. What is your favourite word?
I don’t really have one, but here’s a popular choice that I likeβ€” supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

18. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?Β 
Can I say none of the above? If I have to, then probably nerd. Don’t you dare call me a dork or a dweeb. I’m not boring nor socially-inept. Lol, this was a cruel question πŸ˜€

19.Β Vampires or Fairies? Why?
Fairies. I used to watch Winx Club when I was younger and it was great πŸ™‚

20.Β Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
I like Lend from Paranormally, who is a shape-shifter, but angels are just amazing. SPOILER FOR THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS>>>> Jace Herondale, who is only half, is full of so much sass and it’s hard to resist.<<<

21.Β Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
Werewolves, because I’m kind of addicted to Teen Wolf.

22.Β Zombies or Vampires? Why?
In books I prefer vampires, but I like zombies otherwise πŸ™‚ Vampires are too exaggerated and overused.

23.Β Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
I actually don’t like any of these, but The Infernal Devices love triangle, though. *sighs in happiness*

24.Β And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?
I’ve never liked full-on romance, so action-packed it is. I could never survive a whole book only based on romance with no other plot! *shudders*

Hmm, now for the nominees… Who do we have here?

I think YOU should do this tag too. I had a lot of fun answering these questions and I think you would too πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. My best subject would be tied with LA and French. French a bit more, I think. #proudcanadian πŸ˜€ Ha ha same here, I used to watch Winx Club, but now my younger sister does! πŸ˜‰ And Tahereh Mafi’s writing style definitely is unique, now that I think of it. There’s just something about it… ❀ Loved your answers!

    • Me too πŸ™‚ Lol I feel like I must know French to be capable of this citizenship πŸ˜‰ Wow that’s great! Me and my little sister watch the seasons all over from the start during winter break and I’m stuck on season 5! Thanks!

  2. Oh God, Youtube is the BIGGEST distraction ever! It happens way too often that I’m in the middle of writing a blog post and think “oh actually i could just leave YT running in the background” and then it’s two hours later, I have no idea what I’m writing about anymore and i’ve watched about a million cat videos! πŸ˜‚

    • I know right! I actually do the exact same; when I’m watching something, I let it run on audio, but then switch to video ’cause I can’t help it πŸ™‚ I usually watch booktube and book hauls πŸ˜€

      • Yes πŸ™‚ I usually end up with dinosaurs and snakes vids because kittens are great, but I doubt they’ll be happy next to my dino collections lol πŸ˜€ Jurassic World is coming soon and I’m so excited!!

  3. Cool! So if we meet, you can bomb me in a bunch of French and I’ll be like wooooooaaaah! Anyways, I just stumbled on your blog and I. Love. It. I want to do this tag but like you do, I get caught up reading other books online while trying to blog and then—whoooop! Watch my draft folder. It is so full. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Oui, mademoiselle! Haha I’m really only good at reading it (sometimes) but figuring it out vocally can be a hassle πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for the kind words, it’s friends like you who really drive me to keep blogging! Mine used to be really full too (like 30) and then I went on a purging spree and now I have only 8 πŸ˜‰ There are so many tags that I want to do!!

      • Well done! I agree, it’s always these type of tags that you end up wanting to do. Like, when I started blogging, I had my eye on EVERY blog post that tagged the audience as well. Ha ha :). Yay, I’m glad we’re friends. After all, when two people are drawn to books so much, friendship is inevitable!. Nice meeting you!

      • Me too, and it’s not only to see if I’m tagged, but also to find more bloggers out there to make the blogging journey worthwhile πŸ™‚ I’m glad tooβ€”bookish people are just meant to be friends with each other, no? Haha, nice meeting you too πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

