A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab


That cover is so pretty! To the point, and beautiful. I admit it was actually the cover that made me pick this book up, even though I initially heard its rave reviews on Booktube.


Good books have great world-building. But this one had amazing worlds-building. The concept of this book is just mind-blowing. Just the thought of four Londons, layered upon each other, is so spectacular that it took me a long time to even grasp the idea of it.

I didn’t immediately connect with Kell, but I feel that instant connections don’t last very long in books (but Will Herondale did!) I liked Kell though and wanted to know him even more when I got to the middle of the book, with many mysteries surrounding him. Lila was an.. interesting character. I can’t say I liked her, I hated her, but she was there and she did help Kell, so it was okay in the start. But then she got really annoying when she wouldn’t give his possession back and stubbornly made Kell take her along. I liked her defiance, steady and plain, but it was overwhelming and unattractive.

I had a strong urge to abandon this book in the middle—not because the book was boring or bad, but because I couldn’t take Lila anymore. I’ve already ranted on that, but she was my most un-favourite part of the book. A wanna-be, an obstacle. I felt that the book would be over really fast if she wasn’t there to slow things down.

The magic aspect of this story was wonderful, and did not disappoint at all. The languages and intricate histories of each city also added to the greatness of the book and despite my above rants, this book easily became a favourite as I was reading it.

Apart from Lila, this book was just mind-blowing and I loved every part of it. Even a bit of Lila. There was a sort of hunger for this book that I can’t quite put my finger on, and I couldn’t let it go. I can’t wait for the next book and will probably read it as soon as it is out. In my opinion, this was an epic read and the plot is great, the characters intriguing, and the writing beautiful and engaging. I think you should read it now.

Favourite Quote: “Aren’t you afraid of dying?” he asked Lila now.
She looked at him as if it were a strange question. And then she shook her head. “Death comes for everyone,” she said simply. “I’m not afraid of dying. But I am afraid of dying here.” She swept her hand over the room, the tavern, the city. “I’d rather die on an adventure than live standing still.”

image [www.imagesplitter.net]-0-0

6 thoughts on “A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

  1. Glad you enjoyed it babe!! Honestly I’ve been hesitant to pick it up as well. I’ve only heard great things so I have no idea why I haven’t read it yet haha.. Maybe the hype? Great review though. xx

    • Thank you! Yeah, I get you with the hype thing. I’m also a bit hesitant with really popular books, but I assure you, if you like a good adventure/magic book, you’ll like this one too 🙂

  2. Sometimes I do find it a little hard to connect to characters in third-person fantasy books, but I loved ADSOM. I totally agree with you on the worldbuilding; it was fantastic!
    Hehe, weirdly enough I rather like Lila. 😛 She could be irritating but, hmm… It’s so interesting how everyone experiences books in different ways!

    • Me too, ADSOM might be my favourite magic-adventure book yet 😀 I like Lila a bit too, and maybe would have liked her more if not for the fact that she kinda annoyed me 😛 Yeah, it’s really good to know what others think about a book you’ve read!

Leave a Reply

