The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak


* Thanks to Netgalley and Sourcebooks Fire for providing an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review. This, however, does not influence my opinions in any way.

The concept of a hater bonding with a boy band was really interesting and fun, even if it wasn’t original. This book just gave me so many feels. I never thought I would actually love “fanfiction” but this one was just amazing.

I really loved this book, although I admit the plot wasn’t that strong and the story needed to be touched up a bit more at some places. The characters were just perfect and I wouldn’t change that for anything—all four band members, Stella, her brother, her sister: they were lovable. My favourite character just happened to be JJ, who was really dirty at times, but he was also really funny and made me laugh really hard.

Not exactly light, but this one is a really good read if you’re just ready to forget the other worries and just roll right into a sweet story. I was always interested in what the boys were upto and it kind of hooked me into reading further because I wanted to spend more fictional time with them.

This is just the type of book that you love because your heart tells you to, not because the words make sense, or the writing is flawless. You love it because you love what’s in it. I’m definitely going to be picking up the rest of the books in the “series” that are from the other band members’ point of views.

4 thoughts on “The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak

  1. Is it weird that I sometimes enjoy a soppy, not-exactly-brilliant-writing-but character-driven love story sometimes? They’re just so great at taking your mind off other things! x

    • Hi! No, it’s not weird at all! I find myself reaching for the full on soppy love stories once in a while too XD. I guess with all the hype around dystopia, adventure and fantasy, reading something a bit different helps you relax 🙂 And it’s always good to mood read! 😀

Leave a Reply

