The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater


The writing style was really unique but it was weird, too. At the start, I wasn’t pulled in, and it wasn’t the most interesting for the first few chapters, but things began to get better after a few pages.

I am so grateful there was no insta-love here, even though the book was about how Blue would either kill Gansey, or was his true love. In this book, she actually likes Adam, but I really hope there is some Blue-Gansey romance in the future, because I think the two would be lovely together!

Gansey was my favourite character, quite possibly because he was rich but did not let that affect him. He always tried to be better and even though he seemed very powerful, he actually was a bit self-conscious and doubted that people liked him. His character was really well-developed, maybe even more than Blue’s. Adam, Ronan and Noah were just as great and I honestly could relate to all of them.

The story was confusing some times, and not coherent at others, but it was very intriguing and there was a pull to it. A magical pull into a supernatural book. I felt like the whole supernatural aspect could be explained better, because it was just told, not shown.

One of the best parts was that although the story was about the boys and Blue as a group, they also had their own problems to deal with, along with the obstacles that came their way on their hunt for Glendower. I’ll be continuing the series, especially because I’ve heard that The Dream Thieves is better than this one!

Favourite Quote: “You are being self-pitying.”
“I’m nearly done. You don’t have much more of this to bear.”
“I like you better this way.”
“Crushed and broken,” Gansey said. “Just the way women like ’em.”

(I liked broken-Gansey just a teensy bit more than normal, put-together Gansey.)

My Rating:  ★★★★½   4.5 stars

One thought on “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | July TBR | The Enchanted Book

Leave a Reply

