Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella | ARC Review


*Thanks to the lovely people at Penguin Random House for sending me an ARC of this book to review! The review below is 100% honest and the thoughts and feelings are my own.


I’m not a very sensitive person. To be honest, I never would have even picked up a book about mental illness if I hadn’t received it for reviewing. But I tried it, and it made my day. It was just the right amounts of light-hearted, while also showing the harsh reality of suffering from a mental illness.

I like how Audrey didn’t start sharing everything with Linus from the very start. It took her a while to adjust and feel comfortable with it, and the romance felt genuine. Frank, her brother, was an awesome, well fleshed-out character, along with Linus, who seemed to brighten up the room.

The humour was the best part. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed this much while reading a book. If I’d told anyone this was a book about a serious topic, no one would believe me, because I was smiling throughout.

I thought I’d find Audrey annoying, like I sometimes do with other protagonists who over-react, but strangely, I didn’t. I actually liked her, and although I didn’t relate to her, I could connect. She was an awesome lead and never boring to hear about. Even her current situation seemed real and I didn’t feel like she was over-reacting, which sometimes happens in books about mental illness.

I’ll definitely be trying out Kinsella’s other books in the future. She made me laugh like no other and I just flew through the pages, not stopping, not because I needed to know what happened next, but because I genuinely liked the characters and their stories felt like my own.

Favourite Quote: “The more you engage with the outside world, the more you’ll be able to turn down the volume on those worries. You’ll see that they’re unfounded. You’ll see that the world is a very busy and varied place and most people have the attention span of a gnat. They’ve already forgotten what happened. They don’t think about it. There will have been five more sensations since your incident.”

2 thoughts on “Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella | ARC Review

Leave a Reply

