Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson


‘Summer’ is in the title, on the cover and in the description. Was there any reason to not read this? I think not. A beautiful summer read, intended for the beach. Warning: keep a box of Kleenex beside you if you are emotionally sensitive.


I have heard so many good things about Matson’s books that it was hard to go into this one without high expectations. And this book did not disappoint in the least. There was a lot of character development here, as there had to be, and it was not only for Taylor, the protagonist. Her whole family had to change a little due to the given circumstances.

The plot was a bit slow-going, and in my opinion, that really added to the charm of the story. The mistakes that Taylor made and the effect that had on her friends wasn’t going to disappear in a few days. It took them time to adjust and be comfortable with their new settings and all this made everything more believable. I also learnt many life lessons while reading this and it taught how to appreciate things in life. It taught me to not take the amount of life in my life for granted.

The amazing part of this story was how real it felt. The problems, the grief, the joy—it all seemed to jump out of the book and engulf the reader. I was in tears by the end of the story because it was so beautiful and heartbreaking. Along with feeling real, it also was realistic. For me, the ending either makes it or breaks it, and this ending really made the whole story worthwhile.

This book made me long so much for the beach, and after reading this, I am definitely going to be spending much more time with my family, and by the ocean. A perfect read for the summertime, and especially in your teens, when there is still enough time to correct every mistake that you’ve made.

Favourite Quote: “A thousand moments that I had just taken for granted- mostly because I had assumed that there would be a thousand more.”

10 thoughts on “Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

  1. I read Second Chance Summer a couple months ago and OH MY GOODNESS. I loved it!! By the end I was balling omg. I loved reading what you thought if it as well. I’m so glad you enjoyed it as much as I did!

    • Thank you 😀 This was my first book by Morgan Matson, but it definitely won’t be the last! I’m currently reading Since You’ve Been Gone, and I’m thinking of reading Amy and Roger sometime later, because I don’t have a copy at the moment 🙂 So I guess you can call it going on a Matson spree XD

  2. Pingback: The Emoji Book Tag | The Enchanted Book

Leave a Reply

