All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven


I loved it. This book was just so…so.. I can’t even describe it. Please forgive me if I’m unable to put in words how I feel about it, but I’ll try my best to show you. Maybe I should stop judging books by their covers. It’s a habit, but it needs to be controlled. I thought that this book would be a sweet and cute contemporary read. It was not. And it blew me away.

It’s a bit weird that these adventures in books sometimes start as projects for school. They met at the ledge of the bell tower, but they went to the places because of the geography project. It was really lovely to see how Finch and Violet’s gradual friendship turned into something a little more.

I didn’t really get Theodore Finch. I read the whole book, slowly, word by word, especially paying attention to all the things he said, all the things that he did. But I don’t understand him. And maybe it’s better that way, because that’s what makes his character special. He was just the most interesting, most confusing, best character ever. He changed a lot through out the book, and so did Violet, along with him.

Violet was a badass girl. Before her sister’s accident, she was carefree and liked to have fun. Now, she wishes to go back in time to fix all of that and thinks it was all her fault. Finch did not really cure her, he just helped her realize that somethings are beyond our control and that there’s more to the world than guilt and hidden grief.

I don’t know what it is about this book but it makes me want to sing, run, write, travel, cry, swim and wander. It makes me want to reach for the stars and make wishes on falling ones. It makes me want to leave a mark in the world, everywhere I can. Maybe it’s just me, but this book made me feel more than I thought words on a page could.

I had read many reviews about this book saying that it made them cry and it was heartbreaking, but somehow, while reading this beautiful piece, I forgot all that and I couldn’t think properly. I didn’t cry while or after reading this book. I feel that my feelings for the book I sob for—and this happens only once or twice in a few years—are strong, but they usually diminish with time. The wound that this book left me with will probably not heal, and I don’t want it to. I want to remember this book, the absolute beauty of it, the brightness, the glow.

The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”

“What a terrible feeling to love someone and not be able to help them.”

12 thoughts on “All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. I agree. Finch is someone who is difficult to understand. I wonder why they say that this book is like John Green’s ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ where in fact it is somehow similar to ‘Paper Towns’ since it involves traveling and stuff. Well… 🙂 nice review though.

    • I’ve heard that connection thing with John Green’s books too. I don’t get it either because this book deals with suicide issues while TFIOS was about cancer. Maybe it’s because both are tough things to deal with for teenagers? The traveling parts were really good 🙂 Thank you XD

  2. I’m the same way, I’ve never really been interested in reading this book because the cover makes it look a bit like a fluffy contemporary, but after reading it had such an effect on you I’m so interested!! Great review 🙂

  3. I had the same feelings for this book! After I finished reading, I was in daze because I couldn’t believe it turned out that good. Definitely thought it would be a story of two suicidal people finding hope in each other, but that’s not really how it happend. Great review 🙂

    • Glad to hear it! I had a bit of a book hangover and although it lasted only a few hours, it was really strong. From what I’d heard, this was a book about two teens who attempt to suicide but then stop for each other. But it’s so much better than that line can describe! Thank you so much ❤

  4. I’m so glad you liked this book so much! It really is emotional and beautifully written, and while I wasn’t QUITE as torn up over it as you seem to have been, I really liked it as well. For me, the best part was the Indiana travel aspect. I live in Indianapolis, so it was great so see my home state getting some attention outside The Fault in Our Stars, and the characters’ wanderings reminded me that there’s actually a lot to do in Indiana if you know how to find it. I can’t wait for Jennifer Niven’s next book!

    • I really loved this! Do I sound too torn up? I don’t know, I gave it a 5 stars and I’m always going to remember it, but it’s not a book that I’d give up everything for, you know? I loved the travel aspect too. As far as I know, there aren’t any books set in Vancouver but I sure would read one if they were! I’m eagerly waiting for the next one too 😀

Leave a Reply

