The Reading Habits Tag


The first week of September is almost finished! I’m just sitting here shaking my head in amazement—time flies by so fast! I recently found this TBR calculator here that calculates how long it will take for you to read all of your TBR pile (that is, assuming you don’t add more books) and according to it, it will take me 6 years to read the books on my current TBR.

Anyways, I’m here today with this reading tag because rabbitearsblog tagged me to do it. You should go check out the blog, it really amazing and has great content! So let’s get on with the questions then 🙂

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I read in my room, but on sunny days I also read outside on my patio to take the full benefits of the the warm sun on back and the vitamin D coursing through my skin… you understand.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I have loads of bookmarks (like 15, not a lot) and so I try to make use of them. I do use random pieces of paper a lot too, but it doesn’t give the same feel as a proper bookmark, you know?

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?

I prefer it if I’m able to stop after the chapter ends, but sometimes I have to stop between paragraphs. I really like to set a goal before reading, like 100 pages or so, because I know I won’t be able to finish the book without

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I don’t like my books to be ruined with the food or drink, but I can’t help myself. Reading makes me hungry, especially if the characters are having breakfast or eating scrumptious dishes! I like to connect with the characters on a whole new level 😛

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

Not TV, but sometimes I put instrumental music on low volume while I’m reading. At the end of the book, I also choose a song that I think goes along well with the book, like I chose Drag Me Down by One Direction for An Ember in the Ashes.

One book at a time or several at once?

I’m notorious for reading several books at once. Recently, in the readathons that I particpated in, I did read one book at a time, but most of the time I read many books together. I can’t decide which one to read first!

Reading at home or everywhere?

I read at home for the most part, but sometimes I take my iPad along to read some ebooks on the way to somewhere.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently in my head, mostly. I do read aloud sometimes when I need to imagine the character’s accent or way of speaking.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

You’ve caught me here. I don’t really skip pages, but sometimes my eyes can travel to the later chapters in the book, and I get spoiled. Yes, I’m very ashamed of this, I’m really trying to improve.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

Keeping it like new, definitely. I would never break the spine! *mimics horror face*

Do you write in your books?

No. I don’t like any marks, stains or writing on my books and like to keep them as pristine as possible.

And now I tag…

Aentee @Read at Midnight
Aria @Aria Stuck in Wonderland
Dee @The Bookish Khaleesi
Jessica @My Fantasy Escape
Prima @Panda Hearts Books
Sara @Freadom Library


Hopefully you guys learned a bit more about me and my reading habits 🙂 I really want to tag everyone who has not does this to do the tag because it’s really fun and a way for your followers and readers to know more about you! If you haven’t done it, I tag youSeriously, you can say I tagged you. It’s official.

15 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

      • I entered the number of books I read last year, which was 77. I don’t know if I’ll get that high this year, but I’ve been reading a lot of short books lately so maybe . According to goodreads there are 300 books on my TBR but I probably need to delete about 50 or so books I no longer have interest in reading.

  1. Thanks so much for tagging me! 🙂
    I really have to catch up on them. ^___^

    And I read a loud with an accent sometimes too. Haha. I dunno why but it makes me laugh sometimes when I do it. 😀

    • You’re welcome 🙂
      Haha, me too. I actually had to make a whole list of them, I’m so behind.
      Yay, I thought I was the only one who did that. I’ve done it so much now that it’s hard for me to get the character without doing his/her voice first 😀

  2. Pingback: The Reading Habits Tag! | thebookishkhaleesi

  3. Lovely post! Your (partial) sentence “I have loads of bookmarks (like 15, not a lot)…” made me laugh. I like the idea of reading multiple books at once but I end up abandoning two of them to read one… then I forget about the other two and continue on with the first author’s works! #BookNerdProblems 😉

    -Jordan @ Jordan’s Jewels

    • Thank you! Haha, I’m glad you found it funny 😀 Now that you’ve said it, I actually don’t read multiple books together. I also start abandoning one book for the other 😉 And then I feel so bad I force myself to finish the rest of the ‘currently reading’ books before I start any new ones! 😛

Leave a Reply

