Updates // A weekend trip, library haul and shocking news


I’m in a state of pure shock, please help me.

I was planning on posting some news and tags this weekend, but we all went to the capital of the province, Victoria, Canada so I was really busy.

This picture doesn’t even compare to the magnificent architecture and beauty that the parliament buildings here are, but you can see what I’m talking about, right? So utterly beautiful. (And the domes matched the scarf I was wearing that day, so I felt special ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

While there, I visited the local public library, which is a very nice place by the way, and saw some really nice books that I checked out:

ย  ย ย  ย  ย 

Both of these books are on my fall TBR,ย and I was really happy when I found them sitting on the shelves in the YA section of la bibliotheque. But wait, ladies and gentlemen, the story doesn’t end there. There was also a mall nearby and I took a little detour, hoping to grab a quick coffee and peruse the stores because I was getting a little bored.

I found a bookstore, Coles (or Chapters), which is kind of like Barnes and Noble, only Canadian. It had a great atmosphere and even though it was really small, I saw so many books that I could have just RIPPED off the shelves because they were So. Amazingly. Glorious.

Of course, the first thing I did was look for some books that I had on my fall TBR and OF COURSE, I looked for copies of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. (This is the climax, guys!) I searched up, I searched down but I could not find a SINGLE copy of the series that wasn’t paperback. There were no hardcovers! I asked the staff and they confirmed THAT THRONE OF GLASS STOPPED SELLING HARDCOVERS. I’m not completely sure if this holds true for all bookstores, but they don’t have it anymore.

(I wasn’t able to take a picture of the stupid bookshelf but here’s something that’s 2D and cannot be judged by its looks: if it’s paperback or not.)

As a reader-to-be of this series, I. AM. SO. DISAPPOINTED. I’ve waited so long, so long to read this series and now you’re telling me I can’t own my own beautiful copies? Queen of Shadows is in hardcover but the other three weren’t. I’ll probably have to buy it from a used bookstore, but oh well. I NEED HARDCOVERS.

I don’t really blame Chapters/Coles, but seriously, couldn’t there have been an announcement like, “We’re going to stop selling hardcovers of Throne of Glass so if you’re crazy about them, you may want to purchase them right NOW,” They’re probably just a little lazy ๐Ÿ™‚

So, let’s end with that note. I’m pretty upset right now (as upset you can be without ever being emotionally attached to a series) and this pains me so much. How was your week? Did you make any shocking, life-changing discoveries?

7 thoughts on “Updates // A weekend trip, library haul and shocking news

  1. I think you’re overreacting. What;s wrong with the paperbacks? In any case, pretty sure you can find it used somewhere. Happy reading!

  2. Actually, it’s not really the store’s fault but the publishers who control this; after about a year, they start the switch from hardcover to paperback, and then just use paperback as a cheaper alternative, inducing people to buy it because of the reduced price. But I can see the appeal of hardcover over paperback: it has a nice jacket that you can also take off and it’s way more durable! Anyways, I hope you enjoy your fall reads! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

