Ten Authors Who Amazed Me in 2015


 

hipsterlogogenerator_1449628889175

I read so many great books this year, so picking just a few authors to make this list is going to be a little bit of a difficult task. I read more than 50 book this year (for the first time in forever!) and I finally have an awesome list to choose from for my Top Ten.

This list is in the order from the books I read earlier in the year, with the books I read more recently in the end. All of these authors just won my heart! Ah, bless my bookish soul 😉

1. Marie Rutkoski

Winner’s Curse, one of the first books I read this year, was just great. The summary on the back doesn’t give away much, but this book is so good! Arin and Kestrel’s romance is bittersweet and it’s so different from other books that it quickly become one of my best reads this year.

2. V.E. Schwab

The book that drew me in was A Darker Shade of Magic, and it got me hooked from the first page. The history and fantasy elements are blended together so nicely and the writing style is just fantastic. I hope I can get to read The Archived or Vicious next year—I’ve seen even better reviews for them than ADSoM!

3. Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys didn’t start out as spectacular as it later became. It was a bit confusing at first, but the book is like a woven lattice: there are so many layers of information and depth in the plot! I really need to finish The Dream Thieves, though, before I can talk more about the amazing-ness of Maggie Stiefvater.

4. Sophie Kinsella

I’m so glad Sophie Kinsella decided to write young adult novels as well. Finding Audrey was such a hilarious and fun book. I’d read anything she writes, if only for the sheer fun of it 😉

5. Marissa Meyer

I read four of Marissa Meyer’s books this year, so she had to make this list of course. I don’t know why I waited so long to pick up Cinder—it was awesome, and Scarlet and Cress kept getting better. Fairest didn’t make it for me, but I was definitely amazed by this author.

6. Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and the Dawn.. need I say more? Khalid and Shazi’s relationship is so beautiful and her witty personality is really enjoyable. It’s not everyday you see a woman who can stun even the king with her words and yes, obstinacy!

7. Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes was even better than the hype suggested. Elias, Laia and Helene were all my favorite and I didn’t know who to root for. I need A Torch Against the Night so badly!

8. Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes was so amazing! Prince Theron is just lovely and I really liked Meira’s spirit and how her determination kept her going. Ice Like Fire needs to live up to my expectations!

9. Leigh Bardugo

The Grisha trilogy was so much better than I expected, and although the last book wasn’t as good as the first two, the characters made up for it and I loved the ending. I can’t wait to read Six of Crows!

10. Sarah J. Maas

I’m still reading Throne of Glass (about 75% through!) but I couldn’t not include her on this list. She’s given me TWO guys to fangirl about! My poor heart, I can’t even choose between Chaol or Dorian.. Throne of Glass is soon becoming one of my favorites.

I’ve run out of adjectives now. There are so many more authors that deserve to be on this list too, and wowed me with their writing and stories: Jennifer Niven, Morgan Matson and Susan Ee are just a couple of others.

Which authors made your top ten list? Did you guys all have a good reading year?

 

6 thoughts on “Ten Authors Who Amazed Me in 2015

  1. Last year it was a bit of a struggle for me to come up with a top 10 list, but this year I’ve read so many amazing books I’m not sure how I’ll narrow it down. Glad to hear you had such a great reading year! Hope 2016 will be an even better one.

    I read several of these authors for the first time this year too. Great list!

  2. Victoria Schwab is my favorite female author! If you really loved ADSoM, you’ll love Vicious and The Archived series. She’s so talented and imaginative which really shows in her writing.

  3. I got totally obsessed with Leigh Bardugo this year too. What I love about reading her books is the developments that you see in her writing. I enjoyed the Grisha series, but the step up in concept and execution in Six of Crows is incredible. She avoided almost all of the YA tropes that she fell into during the Grisha books and it was so refreshing to read! You’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

