Lost by Donnielle Tyner


After the meteorite crashed on Earth, it released a mist that changed the DNA of some soldiers in the second World War. They are known as Caelians and have different powers called Talents, and they live along with Norms- Talent-less humans. Sadie is an orphan and doesn’t have the ability to harness her talent yet. Until one day, she meets Kian.

It started off at a good, easy pace and I enjoyed it until around the middle. The beginning of the story was great and it felt like it was gearing up and a surprise would come later on in the book but it all just fell a little flat. I did like reading it but it wasn’t captivating or

The writing was simple but I found the conversations between the characters to be forced and even sometimes, awkward. Most parts of the book felt dull and I couldn’t bring myself to be as invested in the story. The plot line had great potential, though, and the history of the Caelian magic was very interesting even if there wasn’t a lot of it.

I didn’t buy the romance between Kian and Sadie, though. It might be because of the time in the story and how it spans over a few weeks, but it wasn’t convincing enough. They only met about two times before she started falling in love with him. I didn’t particularly connect with Sadie’s character either. She was likable, yes, but she is very ordinary and lacked the traits that makes a good main character. I found it hard to relate to her.

Despite all my little complaints, it was a good book with a great background story. I especially liked the prologue piece and it drew me in from the first page. I would have liked the book to be longer! I was just beginning to distinguish the characters and recognize them individually.

Please don’t be discouraged by my low rating for books. It was a good read. It is just that after book blogging, my rating and views have changed and I tend to unemotionally rip its different components apart when reviewing. 🙂

A copy of this book was given to me by the author for review.

image [www.imagesplitter.net]-0-0

Leave a Reply

